Which Xone's made for me: Xone:92 or Xone:DB2

Home :: Reviews of DJ equipment :: Which Xone's made for me: Xone:92 or Xone:DB2Reply
Which Xone's made for me: Xone:92 or Xone:DB2
Posted on: 22.03.2012 by Basil Forshee
Since I've met the Xone DB4, I fell in love with it. It was going to be mine, period. But since a couple of months, I've decided to not spend all my money on a Xone DB4. Since I'm a student, it's just too much money to spend on something at the moment. At first, it left 1 personal alternative: the Xone 92. But then came BPM 2011 and I was quite happy when the Xone DB2 got its introduction. But my heart already fell for the Xone 92.

Since that lovely day in October, my head is playing a game with me. Then I'm sure; I'm going for the DB2, no doubt! But a few weeks later, hmm the 92 is greater! And then the next day: no, the DB2 is greaterer ! And so it goes on and on... So now I'm facing you, the wonderful community of DJTT. You can help me out, right?

In December I've tested the Xone DB4. The FX Engine is just amazing. FX sounds a lightyear ahead of the competition, although I've only heard the Pioneer and Denon ones. So I know that the DB2 is cut from the same cloth. No question about that. Beside all the good things on the DB2, a few personal disadvantages regarding the DB2:
  • No Voltage Controlled/Digital Filters
  • No FX Send/Return - AUX
  • Although the DB2 has an on-board soundcard, no routing to the MIC Channel is possible for using a Maschine. For using the Maschine, like Dubfire (he uses the DB4), I still need an external soundcard!
  • 6-digit VU meter

Probably most important in choosing my mixer of choice, is the genre I'm playing. I play Techno and occasionally Tech House/Deep House, but mostly Techno. For the US viewers believe Audio Injection, Chris Liebing, Richie Hawtin etc. So I won't be using DVS and Traktor Scratch Certification is not important for me, neither is the Input Matrix.