Which Stylus/Cartridge?

Home :: Oldschool - vinyl and disc Djs topic :: Which Stylus/Cartridge?Reply
Which Stylus/Cartridge?
Posted on: 22.02.2012 by Myles Sherritt
I have just bought my self a single Technics 1210 Mk II turntable.

I am looking to use this deck to record my vinyl onto my HDD and potentially in the future, mix with another deck.

According to the seller,"It has a stanton 500 AL cartrige and stylus. the stylus though working has seen use, so to protect your records would suggest you replace it."

I am a complete newbie to turntables.

So my question to you is: What stylus/cartridge should I purchase for someone that is going to be using it to record vinyl and mixing between records?

I do not scratch!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2307455908...84.m1423.l2649

Please bear in mind that I am a newbie to turntables. I have looked through the other threads on the community regarding cartridges and when I read oftcom, concords, tracking etc being discussed, it just makes no sense to me.

Someone please help!
Verona Spradlin
Originally Posted by Nontablist
shure m447.... the old school tough cartridge and stylus for everything you need...
Very good suggestion, the M44-7 is pretty much my favorite cartridge ever but since he said her doesn't scratch, maybe he should get the M44G.
Ngan Ernestine
Originally Posted by Patch
That doesn't look or sound anywhere near as good as a 500AL.
the stanton 500 al ii was an well-respected, durable DJ cart during its time. it was designed for ruggedness and it was pretty loud. none of that matters for the purpose of digitizing vinyl. the 500 al ii with its spherical stylus cannot compete with the at95e when it comes to audio fidelity. my 2c.
Myles Sherritt

But hey - if it works for you, that's great.
Why not? I did some google searches of technica and reviews came up good. Also price wise 500AL came up cheaper.

Not knowing much about turntables, I presumed more expensive = better.
Ngan Ernestine