Advice required on beginner setup (2 Numark ndx400's and 1 M1 mixer)

Home :: Oldschool - vinyl and disc Djs topic :: Advice required on beginner setup (2 Numark ndx400's and 1 M1 mixer)Reply
Advice required on beginner setup (2 Numark ndx400's and 1 M1 mixer)
Posted on: 02.12.2012 by Augustus Tucholski
Hi, i wanted to get into djing for years and finally found the courage to buy some gear . I stupidly didn't really believe to much about what i was buying just saw a deal on ebay and went for it and ended up with 2 Numark ndx400's and an M1 mixer!
Being a complete beginner i have been watching videos on youtube and fiddling with the gear trying to get a feel for it, but in many of the videos i see people with the same cdj's as myself but they are using laptops and controllers.
Do i need to invest in any extra gear to help my setup or connect to a laptop? I understand that these CDJ's are not midi controllers and you have to use time code CD's. Or shall i just keep practicing with what i have and hope i will improve in time?

Any advice would be greatly received
Augustus Tucholski
Hi, i wanted to get into djing for years and finally found the courage to buy some gear . I stupidly didn't really believe to much about what i was buying just saw a deal on ebay and went for it and ended up with 2 Numark ndx400's and an M1 mixer!
Being a complete beginner i have been watching videos on youtube and fiddling with the gear trying to get a feel for it, but in many of the videos i see people with the same cdj's as myself but they are using laptops and controllers.
Do i need to invest in any extra gear to help my setup or connect to a laptop? I understand that these CDJ's are not midi controllers and you have to use time code CD's. Or shall i just keep practicing with what i have and hope i will improve in time?

Any advice would be greatly received
Nana Mohs