CDJs and USB hub

CDJs and USB hub
Posted on: 23.04.2013 by Emilia Dielmann
How well do CDJ 900/2000 respond in HID mode connected to a USB hub? Reason I'm asking , Like to use my X1 along with the cdjs. I have a MBA with only 2 USB ports.
Maisie Davidovic
Originally Posted by makar1
Very strange. Have you checked the HID setting in the CDJ menu and set it to "Advanced"? What Traktor/CDJ firmware versions are you on? I'm using 2.6.1 and 4.11 respectively and everything works fine.

Also if unplugging the CDJs doesn't affect the audio you could easily connect it to the next Traktor setup without having to use a CD surely?
That was the first thing I did during setup. Because last time when music was playing and I switched one of them to advance mode it cut the sound for a quick second.

I forgot to check what version.
Maisie Davidovic
Originally Posted by Samui
load your 1st track via cd/usb and then just set up your stuff and then continue with your set in traktor although the 1st mix has to be manual .
No problem there.....last time I just had an issue unlinking traktor from the CDJ.
Maisie Davidovic
Originally Posted by hellnegative
This shit all sounds to fucking complicated. lol
Not that complicated after the first time you do it the right away. Problem is not having the gear in front of you to play around with.
Maisie Davidovic
If you really can't fix it, use the DJM900 soundcard for Traktor. That way you can use the hardware switches on the mixer (above the gain knobs) to change from USB to CD mode without any risk.
To better understand this, each CDJ is connected with Digital IN on the back of the mixer so if I wanted to play it normally I would switch to Digital (above the Trim knob). Now when I'm Using Traktor connected to the DJM 900, then I would rotate the knob right to USB. And Traktor is able to communicate with each CDJ via the Digital wire. Is that correct? I would not have to press link at any time?