cant seem to figure out why my needles keep skipping (new to TT's)

Home :: Oldschool - vinyl and disc Djs topic :: cant seem to figure out why my needles keep skipping (new to TT's)Reply
cant seem to figure out why my needles keep skipping (new to TT's)
Posted on: 03.06.2013 by Rufus Ondrick
Hello all as you could probably tell im still a little new to turntables. I was hoping if anyone could help me figure out why my stanton 680hp's are skipping. i've got DVS set up with traktor if that helps. i've followed a few guides but with no success. the recommended tracking force for my cart is 2 - 5grams and i've adjusted it to 3 - 3.5 even up to 5 and anti skating fixed to 3 but it still skips. what am i doing wrong? also does the surface level which my turntables are on play a good part to the skipping?

dont be harsh, help a newbie out

Thanks
Rufus Ondrick
Originally Posted by djproben
All good advice above, but just a couple other notes. If the record has a hole that is too large (by a fraction of a millimeter) this can contribute to skipping; use a tiny sliver or two of scotch tape inside the hole to bolster it if that's a problem. A warped or bowled record is also prone to skipping more often. And the point about breaking in the needle is especially true for Stanton needles I've found (I haven't used the 680 but I was shocked by the amount of skipping I saw on new scratchmasters or whatever they were called); leave the needle on the record overevening to help break them in. (And yeah you'll do much better with M447s if you're into scratching at all).