protocollie's setup

protocollie's setup
Posted on: 28.08.2012 by Laurence Calisto
hey, everyone!

i'm relatively new here but figured i'd say hello by joining the setup discussion and posting what i have and where i'm going. i've looked through pretty much everyone else's setups back 2 pages and there's some SERIOUSLY cool and creative stuff going on here. i can tell i'm in good company.

i've been djing for about 10 years, personally - since around 2000-2001ish, and producing for about as long, too (though I'm not nearly as good at that!) lately my setup's been very well tailored towards production.

this is my dj setup atm (the apc40 and maschine hop in and out based on how i feel.)

IMG_0050.jpg

i've consolidated the mess behind a bunch and for producing now, i've eliminated a lot of the noise:

IMG_0062.jpg

i'm moving from the s4 to 4 cdjs and a djm2000, i have 2 of them now and the rest is coming in over the next few months... very exciting! i'll post photos once i figure out how to set that all up in a way that stuff's still conducive to producing. i really like the s4 but in general i'm finding myself pining for the feeling i used to have back in the day when i played on vinyl and the CDJs are the only thing that have really given me that full feel - i'm hoping i'll be able to continue using traktor midi-synced to the djm to do some really cool stuff though

and since i'm shameless like this, i'd like to show off one of my favorite dj accessories

IMG_0149.jpg

lil girl loves her techno

anyway, nice to meet you all!
Laurence Calisto
Originally Posted by Seku
What's up protocollie, good to see you again (in case you're wondering, we've met in-person back in '09).

Your new setup looks awesome btw, I've wanted that same setup for a good while now myself but can't afford it just yet.

(This was the starter set I got after seeing your essentials demonstration back in 09).
DSC01071[1].jpg