Needle problem with serato

Home :: Anything on the Serato :: Needle problem with seratoReply
Needle problem with serato
Posted on: 03.01.2012 by Nicolas Carrozzo
Hello outthere! I'm having an issue with my needles skipping song position when manipulating the vinyl for scratching in serato! Anyone else have this issue? Can it be Corrected? Ive seen videos of others using the same gear as me with no problems.
Cristian Carmona
Originally Posted by Djschiti
My needles are about 2 years old but barely used and my tone arm is level with the platter weight almost all the way forward and antiskate is balanced right in the middle, my slip mats are regular felt mats with a layer of wax paper between the platter and the slipmat, I'm just beginning to learn scratching.
sounds like they might be out of service...sitting for two years in unknown weather
Micaela Scherbert
weight almost all the way forward.
looks like it should have 3 grams of pressure. Have you balanced the tone arm? i.e. pulled the weight back so that the arm is balancing, setting the black dial to 0, then twisting the weight forward until it's at 3 grams of pressure?

to much and too little pressure can cause needles to jump.

too much can also cause unneeded wear on the vinyl and stylus.
Nicolas Carrozzo
Hello outthere! I'm having an issue with my needles skipping song position when manipulating the vinyl for scratching in serato! Anyone else have this issue? Can it be Corrected? Ive seen videos of others using the same gear as me with no problems.
Sharri Kenimer
Djschiti,
Do you know how to balance the technics tonearm?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbsCWMh9nwY

For scratching I normally set weight to 2,5 - 3,0.
I use Ortofon Qbert Concordes, and Shure 447 as backup.

Also for scratching you wanna set Anti Skate to ZERO.
To check if anti skate is actually working at zero: set weight to 0.
The arm should now STAY in the same position.