What equipment would you buy for your first setup if you had

Home :: Oldschool - vinyl and disc Djs topic :: What equipment would you buy for your first setup if you had Reply
What equipment would you buy for your first setup if you had
Posted on: 28.05.2013 by Bernard Pulizzi
Hello all, this is my first thread on this community , and I'm happy to be here!

I am a practising producer finally ready to pick up some gear to take DJing seriously and put in the time. Therefore, I am looking to create my first setup with a budget of around
Antone Kazim
Originally Posted by makar1
How do you compare the SC2900s and the CDJ900s? I'm guessing the Ipad integration makes a difference as they're pretty similar otherwise?
They are basically identical, and both excellent players. I had my CDJ900s (also brought brand-new) about a year or so before I traded them in for teh 2900s so I've been able to spend a fair bit of time with both.

The SC2900 does have hot-cues, seperate start/stop time adjust, jog-wheel torque adjust, and a BPM master sync type thing (similar to the 2000nexus I believe) in addition to all of the CDJ900s features.

It also has (in my opinion) a noticably superior jog-wheel, in fact I'd say it's the best jog-wheel I've used. It is butter-smooth and doesn't feel at all mechanical, and the different torque settings are each sufficiently different to be useful.

The pitch slider I felt is marginally better on the CDJ900 (I just prefer the feel of them) but after a couple of weeks with the 2900 I'd almost forgotten this.

The SC2900 is also noticably heavier than the 900 and feels somewhat more solid. I doubt there is any real difference in build quality between them, and neither feel anywhere near the old CDJ1000 in terms of weight/cost ratio (a ratio I may have just made up), but the 2900s hard casing and extra weight is noticable over the 900.