Atari 7800 Casing - Midi Fighter Mod

Home :: MIDIfighter Resources and Discussion :: Atari 7800 Casing - Midi Fighter ModReply
Atari 7800 Casing - Midi Fighter Mod
Posted on: 28.01.2012 by Alysa Machuta
Hello,

This is my first project. I've recently purchased a midi fighter. I'm going to add 2 rotary , 2 slide potentiometers and 4 extra arcade buttons. This is all going to be re-housed in an Atari 7800 casing.

What would be the best way going about getting the 24mm and 28mm holes bored/drilled and the spacing for the sliders made without damaging the casing?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Here is a pic of the case I'm going to use.

Estefana Musfeldt
Originally Posted by Dixhouse
Thanks, that's sound advice. To drill the 24 and 28mm holes would it be ok to use a masonry drill bit?
you can but it would be rough edges, i would use a core drill bit don't know the real name use my dad's tools it basically cuts out a piece of the plastic to leave a 24mm hole
Alysa Machuta
Hello,

This is my first project. I've recently purchased a midi fighter. I'm going to add 2 rotary , 2 slide potentiometers and 4 extra arcade buttons. This is all going to be re-housed in an Atari 7800 casing.

What would be the best way going about getting the 24mm and 28mm holes bored/drilled and the spacing for the sliders made without damaging the casing?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Here is a pic of the case I'm going to use.

Ada Matzkin
use a spade bit http://www.google.com/imgres?hl=en&b...:0&tx=93&ty=32
Alysa Machuta

https://p.twimg.com/AmwVIlVCEAAgA7C.jpg
Alysa Machuta
Hey guys thanks for the advice.

I have decided to used use an Atari 2600 casing that I acquired on eBay. Reason being is that on the 7800 casing has a silver metal strip with the Atari logo and detail. Problem being was that I wanted to keep the 4x4 button arrangement which would mean drilling through the logo which I wanted to keep.