Upgrading to Turntables,is it worth it?

Home :: Oldschool - vinyl and disc Djs topic :: Upgrading to Turntables,is it worth it?Reply
Upgrading to Turntables,is it worth it?
Posted on: 13.02.2013 by Jordon Atterholt
I have the S2 for quite some time now,and im starting to look at turntables more and more.The thing is,i believe it would be too overkill for me,since im not that good at mixing right now,but im getting there.Im playing EDM mostly,also some RnB,Hip Hop.Im believeing either upgrade to a better controller,or save up some more cash,and go for a Super OEM tables and a mixer,to go with Traktor.Should i go the turntable route,or buy a bigger controller and wait a little bit,until i am good enough at mixing to jump on the tables?
Jordon Atterholt
Originally Posted by Vekked
Depends tbh, if you're doing anything that involves manipulating the actual music (trick mixing, doubles, scratching, juggling, etc), it's definitely an upgrade. If you're holding long mixes and focussing on EQ, FX, etc etc EDM stuff, then not so much. Depends on your mixing style and how you wanna limit yourself and such.
Well,that is the other thing why im not so sure about getting turntables.I really like long mixes,using EQ a lot,FX not so much,and i just started getting more and more into mixing RnB,Hip Hop,Rap..Just that sudden change of the workflow,is what im worried about.Im sure i will get use do it,learn the basics,and make progress with time,but im not sure if i will stay long enough on tables if i get a pair..
Ervin Calvery
Yea I mean, with DVS + midi controllers I feel like there isn't much you can't do on TT that you can do on CDJ or DJ controllers but I could be wrong.
Well, I don't really use CDJs, and it's not very limiting. However, I can't play CDs - at all.
Nelida Ghouse
Originally Posted by bumtsch
Instant beatjumps and perfects loops come to mind. Of course, that's not a problem when you're on timecoded vinyl.