Beatmatching + Low torque

Home :: Oldschool - vinyl and disc Djs topic :: Beatmatching + Low torqueReply
Beatmatching + Low torque
Posted on: 30.05.2013 by Carmel Cobbs
Hello everyone!

I need your advice very much, googling gave me nothing.
I'm a beginner and trying to learn some beatmatching.
I have a pair of Omnitronic dd-2520 having ">1kg/cm" torque, which I suppose is "=1kg/cm".
Also, I have a pair of default omnitronic slipmats, and the problem is - I can't hold plates without stopping the platter as they do, so I'm forced to hold em by the edge. It helps, but doesn't completely solves the problem.
Any advices of what to do in this situation? Will scratch mats save me or I have no choice aside of buying new turntables?

Thanks!
Carmel Cobbs
Originally Posted by Ross
Are you sure you don't just have a heavy hand and are actually pushing the record down, as apposed to resting your hand down?
Yeah, I'm 100% sure, tried to apply the lightest pressure possible. It's either everything stops or everything goes
Carmel Cobbs
Hello everyone!

I need your advice very much, googling gave me nothing.
I'm a beginner and trying to learn some beatmatching.
I have a pair of Omnitronic dd-2520 having ">1kg/cm" torque, which I suppose is "=1kg/cm".
Also, I have a pair of default omnitronic slipmats, and the problem is - I can't hold plates without stopping the platter as they do, so I'm forced to hold em by the edge. It helps, but doesn't completely solves the problem.
Any advices of what to do in this situation? Will scratch mats save me or I have no choice aside of buying new turntables?

Thanks!
Len Lukawski
Anything that minimizes the need for downward pressure on low torque decks is a good thing. The old greaseproof paper or wax paper (if you're one of them there American types) under a set of any slipmats will help a huge amount.