Listen: Special 3-hour Essential Mix by Armin van Buuren

00:00 Nov/30/1999

This weekend, Armin van Buuren turned in an epic set for Pete Tong’s Essential Mix. While the usual format sees the esteemed DJs play 2-hour sets, this one was a bit more special!

“With the current trend of giving DJs only one hour slots at big festivals, I was extremely excited to hear Radio 1 wanted me to do a three-hour set for a special Essential Mix. It’s been a while since I did my last studio mix so I decided to make something special for you, have a proper build-up in this one, starting at 125BPM and building up all the way to a whopping who’s afraid of 138BPM!

To provide a little guide for the listening experience, the trance maestro elaborated further:

“There are also many exclusive first plays in this mix. The first hour is here to warm you up and set the mood for the mix with exclusives by BT & Alexander Popov. The second hour is mostly about my new artist album Intense that was just released on Positiva/Armada Music, including my new single This Is What It Feels Like and my brand new tracks with Richard Bedford, Laura Jansen, Emma Hewitt and many more. You’ll also find some exclusive stuff by Orjan Nilsen and Shogun in the second hour.

“Hour number three is building to a massive climax with some proper banging and uplifting trance with many exclusives, including a new Simon Patterson, ARDI and a brand new Photographer remix. You’ll also find some references to some of my favorite classics and movies in the mix.”

If you're looking to see Armin mix live, there are many possibilities this Summer, and especially the upcoming season. Currently announced are an upcoming gig in South-Korea, Croatia's Ultra Wordlwide festival. He'll then head to South West Four, Electric Zoo, Tomorrowland and Balaton Sound. In November, the Dutchman will go on a solo world tour with Intense, starting from Amsterdam!


1. Rodg – Jacqueline (Intro Mix)

2. Hazem Beltagui ft. Nourey – Light In A Darkened World [Fractal Digital Recordings]

3. Eleven.five – Echo’ on Silk

4. 16BL – Chant A Tune (Jeremy Olander remix) [Armada]

5. ID – Voodoo People [Cold Harbour]

6. Orbital – Halcyon (Dezza Bootleg Remix)

7. JimiJ – Mea Culpa [Electronic Elements]

8. Presslaboys – Incomplete (Deepfunk Remix) [Destroy the Ego]

9. BT – Vervoeren [Armada]

10. Alexander Popov – Moscow Subway [Armada]

11. ID – ID [Coldharbour]

12. Aurosonic & Martire ft. Aelyn – Paradise [Armada]

13. Armin van Buuren ft. Cindy Alma – Beautiful Life

14. Armin van Buuren & W&W vs. Crw – I Feel D# Fat (Disfunktion Mashup)

15. Armin van Buuren ft. Trevor Guthrie – This is what it feels like (W&W Remix)

16. BT & Aqualung – Surrounded (Super8 & Tab Remix) [Armada]

17. Chris Schweizer – Reflections [ASOT/Armada]

18. Armin van Buuren ft Fiora – Waiting For The Night (from Intense)

19. Nic Toms – Perfect Start [Fraction Records]

20. Orjan Nilsen – Xiing [Armind]

21. Underworld vs Orjan Nilsen – Born No Saints (Antillas Mashup)

22. Orjan Nilsen – Violetta [Armind]

23. Armin van Buuren ft. Lauren Evans – Alone (from Intense)

24. Armin van Buuren ft. Laura Jansen – Sound of The Drums (from Intense)

25. Shogun ft. Tania Zygar – Find Me [Armind]

26. Armin van Buuren – Pulsar (from Intense)

27. Ferry Corsten – ‘F The Bull$h1t’ [Flashover]

28. Tasadi & Aryas – Lost Garden (Faruk Sabanci’s Dirty Rock Mix)

29. Sander van Doorn & Mark Knight, Underworld vs Bart Claessen & Dave Schiemann – Madness Ten

30. Klauss Goulart & Max van Voors – Rio (SP Edit) [Armind/Armada]

31. David Gravell – Bulldozer [Mainstage Music]

32. Armin van Buuren ft. Emma Hewitt – Forever is Ours (from Intense)

33. Arisen Flame – Concept [Arisen Music]

34. Armin van Buuren pres. Gaia – Humming The Lights [Positiva]

35. Armin Van Buuren & Tomas Heredia vs. Alex Morph – Communication Love (Chris Schweizer Mashup)

36. Armin van Buuren ft Miri Ben-Ari – Intense (from Intense)

37. Armin van Buuren ft Richard Bedford – Love Never Came (from Intense)

38. Armin van Buuren & Markus Schulz – The Expedition

39. Armin Van Buuren & Aruna – Won’t Let You Go (from Intense)

40. Armin van Buuren – Last Stop Before Heaven (from Intense)

41. Simon Patterson ft. Lucy Pullin – The One [Armind/Armada]

42. Armin van Buuren vs. Arctic Moon vs. OneRepublic – If I Lose Myself Coming Home (Shura Vlasov Mashup)

43. Luke Bond – Reflections [FSOE/Armada]

44. Photographer – Kervansaray [Monster Tunes]

45. Dada Life – Higher State of Dadaland with Daft Punk – Revolution 909

46. A.R.D.I. – Beyond The Time [ASOT/Armada]

47. This is Planet Of Drums – Planet of Drums 01 [Missle Records]

48. Armin van Buuren – Who’s affraid of 138!? (Photographer remix)

49. Armin van Buuren ft. Bagga Bownz – Reprise (from Intense)

Photo: Jorge Mejia Peralta

Latest news

Back to news

Copyright 2012-2016
Chuo-ku, Osaka, Japan
Terms & Privacy