Class compliant Bespoke Midi Controllers (How much would you pay?)

Home :: Reviews of DJ equipment :: Class compliant Bespoke Midi Controllers (How much would you pay?)Reply
Class compliant Bespoke Midi Controllers (How much would you pay?)
Posted on: 08.11.2013 by Eunice Howe
Hey guys,

Seems a cheeky thing to mention
I'm a University Electrical Engineering student and for my final year project i've been really working hard on Midi controller design.
I've got to the point i've developed a solid foundation for USB Midi Class compliant devices

I've been looking at the possibility of me getting into the market of engineering my own controllers.

Currently my vision of a beginning controller is

1- Fully built controller
- 3 Axis Accelerometer control
- Proximity sensor for free hand filter control
- up to 32 analog controls (more will be available on bespoke design)
- 20-30 digital controls (again more available under request)
- Options for ledfeedback hardware coded.
- and More
- Custom case currently talking to an independant engineer about producing a run milled from aluminium and Polycarbonate

2 - MIDI BrainThis will be a fully soldered fully coded platform provided with headers and ribbon cables, whats required from the user is to solder their chosen controls and place it inside a box or case they make everything will be labelled as soon as the connection is on the knob/fader/button you will be ready to send Midi data.
You still will gain 3-axis accelerometer onboard as an additional feature the features will be similar to the above fully built design
Everything will be designed idiot proof

3 - MIDI Brain Lite
Another fully soldered fully coded platform provided with headers and ribbon cables but limited to smaller range of control options and NO/Cheaper accelerometer (I haven't decided yet)

I have prototypes for 1 and 2 currently and just investigating ways we could make the items better without increasing costs.