Looking for some advice on MIDI Keyboard Controllers..

Home :: Reviews of DJ equipment :: Looking for some advice on MIDI Keyboard Controllers..Reply
Looking for some advice on MIDI Keyboard Controllers..
Posted on: 13.11.2013 by Bradley Dingee
Hi,
I'm new to this community and this is my first post.

I'm a beginner in electronic music production. I use Ableton. I go to a music school to learn production where I was introduced to a Novation Launchkey 49, looked pretty good to me. I'm unaware of its competitive products, my teacher recommends it to me too and I've a gut feeling that it could be a decent buy.
The reason I've posted this post is to know what are the other products of this type, and how each could offer something different?
Rolanda Clodfelder
The reason I've posted this post is to know what are the other products of this type, and how each could offer something different?
First off your Instructor knows the criteria of the course, and obviously the Novation Ticks all the necessary boxes for whats being taught, sure there are other options though.

Most Midi Controller keyboards of this type differ in.

Number of Buttons, Knobs and Faders - generally More of each means more control.
Some feature Drumpads - Some are better than others
Knobs vs 360
Rolanda Clodfelder
First off your Instructor knows the criteria of the course, and obviously the Novation Ticks all the necessary boxes for whats being taught, sure there are other options though.

Number of Buttons, Knobs and Faders - generally More of each means more control.
Knobs vs 360
Rolanda Clodfelder

Knobs vs 360
Rolanda Clodfelder

Knobs vs 360
Rolanda Clodfelder

Knobs vs 360
Rolanda Clodfelder

Knobs vs 360
Layne Koop
Originally Posted by amadeus
So becuase his teacher recommended it, he should get it?

Seriously, if he recommened a piece of junk, should he still get it then.
First, the Novation is a reasonable choice. We both agree on that. So the recommendation passes at least the sniff test.